In an effort to address the challenges associated with providing broadband Internet connectivity in rural and hard-to-reach areas, a team of researchers from the Communication Theory Lab (CTL) at KAUST, including Muneer M.

Recently, optical satellite communication (OSC) has emerged as one of the most promising technology for the future-proofing of wireless communication (WC) with the capability to provide global coverage.

Dr. Baha Eddine Belmekki, a postdoctoral fellow in the Communication Theory Lab (CTL), participated in the Falling Walls Lab KAUST 2023 and won second place.

Recently, Graduate Affairs extended their congratulations to the winners of Falling Walls Lab KAUST 2023. 

Recently, a team of researchers from KAUST, including Yingquan Li, Bodhibrata Mukhopadhyay, and Mohamed-Slim Alouini, introduced a new cooperative localization technique that increases localization efficiency in wireless sensor networks.

LoRa backscatter (LB) communication systems can be considered as a potential candidate for ultra low power wide area networks (LPWAN) because of their low cost and low power consumption. In this paper, we comprehensively analyze LB modulation from various aspects, i.e., temporal, spectral, and error performance characteristics.

By David Murphy
The research work of KAUST Ph.D. student Rawan Alghamdi was announced as the runner-up prize winner in the IEEE Competition on Non-Terrestrial Networks (NTN) Beyond 5G and 6G, as part of the "Connecting the World from the Skies" Forum. 

Once again, KAUST faculty are strongly represented on the 2022 list of Highly Cited Researchers, published by Clarivate. A global leader in academic research analytics, Clarivate annually produces a list of individuals whose work accounts for the top 1% of the research cited worldwide.